I’ve got anxiety help!!!

Standard

The one thing people take for granted is confidence. Why? am i talking about confidence and not anxiety. Well anxiety is the most miss understood problem to have. How do I know? Because I have an anxiety problem and I need help. That is why I am writing this post and to help others like myself who are suffering.

When I have anxiety it takes away my focus and confidence in a situation. What happens is I become overwhelmed, confused and unable to think clearly. This is a huge problem in my life. Because of my anxiety I’m always afraid, doubtful, and fearful to take risks. My career is on hold, I’m unemployed and afraid to find a job because I’m afraid I’ll screw it up or unable to do it right due to my problem.

Trying to get help for anxiety is very difficult for me, because I have Christian family & friends. They solution is to pray and confession that you are healed in the name of god, also they will quote a lot of scriptures to me instead of telling me what actions to take and how to overcome it. I have tried what they said and even prayed about it ,but it did not work. Just like a unfit man trying to get in shape, he must exercise. That is a practical thing for that man to get fit so he must exercise, now I need that kind of practical advice and not religious advice.

All I know is I hate having anxiety, I don’t choose or ask for it. I know saying you have anxiety makes you sound like a weak person and maybe that’s the reason people find it hard to talk about. The road to recovery is admitting you have a problem. The main question is still, how to overcome it. I’m sure people who have anxiety secretly live in fear of themselves.

They are medications available to help you cope with anxiety ,at least that’s what I read on the internet. Unfortunately I’m broke and can’t afford to buy these medications. So I’m looking for the best alternative way to overcome or deal with my anxiety.

#So anyone with advice with this topic I would really appreciate it. So if you have or had anxiety this article is for you.

8 thoughts on “I’ve got anxiety help!!!

  1. Hi, I just happened to find your blog site and I can say I truly identify with your issues with anxiety. I had panic attacks for about 20 years and they crippled my life. I became a Christian during that time and the Lord taught me a great many things and actually lead me out of my fear. If you are interested please visit my blog and I think you just might find some good help there! I’ve written many articles on how to apply your faith to the problem of fear. Blessings!

    http://www.hatchcreek.com is where to find me.

  2. I too suffer from panic attacks and anxiety. And over the 20 years that I’ve suffered I’ve learned a thing or two. For me…meds are not the answer. I didn’t like being on them and I felt stilted creatively speaking. However there are other ways. Here’s a short list:
    1. Bananas (Seriously, this sounds crazy, but eat one per day for 2 weeks and see if you don’t feel better! Don’t skip though or it won’t work, look up GABA, it’s a chemical in the brain and is found in Banana)
    2. Relaxation (Calming music, a guided meditation CD, deep breathing are all very effective)
    3. Forced Relaxation (this is a method I’ve used where I scan my body for tense areas and then forcefully release the tense muscles. You’d be surprised where you are tensing up.
    4. Exercise (If you get the good energy flowing, you will truly feel better…but you must get at least 30 minutes 2-3 times per week for this to work. Just working out once doesn’t really seem to help and I don’t mean weight lifting…I mean cardio type stuff)
    5. Search online for a catastrophe scale. (This helped me put things into perspective.)
    6. Write. (write our your feelings! Get all the negative stuff out and maybe analyze or try to understand why you feel the way you do. What is triggering all your stress?)
    7. Realize that it’s okay. (Realize that it’s okay, you probably have a lot going on, there is probably a good reason you are feeling this way. Find out why and then work on your problems)
    8. Don’t drink alcohol. (a hangover is the WORST thing for panic)

    Ok, there’s a start! If you want to learn more about my story..visit me at http://www.angstanxietypanic.wordpress.com I just started my blog about panic attacks and anxiety. Know this…YOU are not alone. There are others of us out there who struggle everyday.
    Best of luck to you!

  3. nutsandraisins

    My friend also suffers with anxiety and and she took medocation in form of tablets for it. I know you say you wouldn’t want to take this but she said it really helped and relaxed her. I would recommend you give it a try :p if not, yeah talking is the best medicine. My friend has told everyone, her friends, family, teachers and so she knows everyone’s got her back. I always invite her places and to my house on the nights (she only lives down the road) so she feels like she’s not alone. I hope this helps : )
    P.S she told me 1 in 3 Americans suffer from anxiety

    • Awwwh thank you for the great advice. I’ll be sure to try medication if it means it will help. I haven’t spoken much about anxiety to my family. I thank you for taking the time to give me advice I really appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

