Intellect vs Creativity

The debate of intellect vs creativity is a never ending battle. The truth be told ,not everybody is as intellectual or creative as they liked to be! The way I see it people are divided into two categories. You either intellectually smart or creative. I myself fall into the creative category, I mean I never been good at learning but always been good with idea’s .

So which category are you? If you have intellect , you will be good at studying, a high achiever, good with rules, good principles, organised and driven. Intellect is very knowledge based, meaning knowing a lot of information and knowing how to use it.

So what does it mean to be creative then. Well creativity is based on having a free spirit, not bound by rules, open minded, passionate, driven but spontaneous. The main thing you should know, creativity is created from imagination and not logical thinking.

Question?

So if you creative does it mean you not smart?

Answer!

To be creative is to be smart its self. Basically with intellect and creativity you can achieve the same thing, “like two people hiking to the top of the same mountain but taking different paths to get there.”

#Intellect and creativity will always be on opposite sides, and yes people can be blessed enough to have them both, but one will always be more than the other.

10 thoughts on “Intellect vs Creativity

  1. Ah yes, in brain-based terms, “intellect” is cortex-driven in ways that creativity can NOT be but, in my experience, not only are the two NOT mutually exclusive, neither are they always (even usually) found in unequal proprtion to one another. I have observed that ongoing expression of BOTH supports the ongoing development of each.

    FYI, I will be linking here as one of the “relateds” on the first of a Creativity Series in development on my ADD-focused wordpress blog: “Is Creativity like a Sense of Humor?” I’ll ping you once it goes live.

    (if you visit, be SURE to note my “bribe” at the very end — I’d love to have your participation as the series moves forward – any of “you” who comment here as well)

    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CMC, SCAC, MCC
    – ADD Coaching Field co-founder –
    (blogs: ADDandSoMuchMore and ADDerWorld – dot com!)
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

      1. Hope you still hold that opinion once you’ve read it πŸ˜‰

        In ANY case, ring in below the article and share YOUR thinking about the points raised in the article (or anything related to creativity itself). I believe it’s a subject worth exploring from any number of vantage points.

        xx,
        mgh

      2. I’m sure I will love it, but you right ,creativity is worth exploring and looking deeper in2. I felt strongly about it so I wrote that article but didn’t really think any1 would really understand it or what I was trying to say until you commented and read my article.

      3. I just “posted” – so I’ll be on pins and needles, eager to read your further thoughts.

        btw – I can relate to concern that anyone else would understand or have any interest in areas that fascinate me enough to write about. I’m frequently surprised when, some time later, I get a comment that indicates a post I’d thought had been totally ignored resonated strongly with someone

        I’m learning to trust that as long as they keep coming back once in a while, they must be interested in SOMETHING on the darned blog πŸ™‚
        xx,
        mgh

Leave a Reply

