My mentor “Gurbaksh Chahal” who has inspired me

Standard

There was a time when I didn’t believe in success but one day as I put the tv on. The Oprah Winfrey show was on and apparently it was about following your passions and dreams. So I was a little interested about what was going on. Then Oprah was interviewing a guy named Gurbaksh Chahal. He was an entrepreneur but it was his story that inspired me about how he achieved success.

He became my mentor ever since

Ever since watching that show I wanted to be like him. So I made him my mentor and I decided to keep up with what he is up to. We have a similar dream to work for ourselves and be our own boss. A year later when he replied to my facebook message it was like a dream come true to be inspired by the very person I admired.

Writing this article has made me remember why I wanted to become successful and its seems I had forgotten that because I have been through some hard times lately. Mentors help us understand the value of success.

Gurbaksh wrote a book called “The dream” as you can see in the picture above you. I’ve been trying to get this book for years. I’ve been to local book stores and even they can’t get it. I’ve taught of downloading the pirate ebook but that wouldn’t be fair. Guess I have to buy the ebook online. If you would like to read more about Gurbaksh success I have copied a brief summary of his autobiography from wikipedia.

Gurbaksh chahal autobiography

At the age of 16, Gurbaksh dropped out of high school to pursue his dream as an entrepreneur and started his first company, ClickAgents. It was one of the first ad networks focused around performance based advertising. Eighteen months later, he sold it for $40 million to ValueClick.

In January 2004, Gurbaksh founded his second company, BlueLithium, this time with an insight into sophisticated new ways that data, optimization and analytics could help Web advertisers with behavioral targeting. BlueLithium was named one of the top 100 private companies in America for three years in a row by AlwaysOn, and in 2006, it joined Google, Skype and Salesforce.com in being named Innovator of the Year. In 2007, Yahoo acquired BlueLithium for $300 million in cash.

At 30, Gurbaksh is already leading his third online ad company, RadiumOne. RadiumOne launched it’s Programmatic Advertising Platform that leverages real-time social interaction from across the Open Web. It’s patent-pending ShareGraph™ technology also amplifies seeds and social interaction signals to continually expand target audiences via 25 billion RTB ad impressions they access every day.

On April 2010, Chahal was awarded the Leaders In Management Award and an Honorary Doctorate degree in Commercial Science from Pace University in 2010 in recognition for his career achievements as an entrepreneur. Much of that story Chahal himself told in his international best-selling book, “The Dream.”

Gurbaksh’s successes as an entrepreneur has also been noted in The New York Times, Entrepreneur magazine, Forbes and BusinessWeek. He has also been profiled on Oprah Winfrey Show, Bonnie Hunt and EXTRA.

#Personal note : I hope you have learnt a little something about success. Always remember to find someone that will inspire you so that you can obtain success to.

Leave a Reply

