Friendships to remember! Going down memory lane

Standard

Today I’ve just been thinking a lot about friends who came and went from my life. When I moved here to newlands west durban (south africa) I was just entering my 1st year of high school. That was about 13 years ago. I didn’t know anyone. So I was kind of lost. My first friend I made here was! 2 of my neighbours daughters. Tanya and Tina they was sweet and I was shy.

I hardly spoke to them unless in school because they where girls and It wasn’t like I could just go and visit them. I was only 13 and fathers don’t want some guy hanging around their daughters even if its a neighbour. My 1st guy friend was a guy named kubeshen. He noticed we lived close by and noticed me walking to school everyday and decided to introduce himself. So we became friends.

Then later I met another friend who was in my class. A guy name renaldo. We wasn’t exactly friends at 1st. I don’t really know happen but one day during lunch break he gave me his school bag to hold and said to me his coming back just now but he never did. “Remember I didn’t really no him or speak with him back then.” He only came after lunch break for his bag I can’t even remember the excuse he told me. I remember I was so mad and I didn’t want to talk to him.

Eventually we did talk and realised we had stuff in common like a stupid sense of humour like in comedy. We liked mortal kombat, street fighter and megaman etc. We became close. Destiny may of had a hand in things because renaldo also lived close by my house.

So in the school holidays I’d hang out with my friends renaldo or kubeshan because they didn’t know each other until later on. When I hanged out with kubeshen he introduced me to some of his neighbours. Torino and lee. They to also became close friends. Then later I introduced renaldo to kubeshen and his neighbours and we all became bra’s (friends)

We had some crazy times hanging out. Doing stupid things. Back then we didn’t have cellphones or dvds so we would play cricket, pool, tops, marbles and play sega(gaming console) for fun.

As time when on in school was how I found my real friends. Renaldo was still my close friend and then later in grade 10 I met another guy friend in my class named oyeshan who also become my close friend. We wasn’t always so close until the last year of school. There was another friend I met moses from another class in my school and he now to is my close friend.

So basically in school lunch break I would hang out with my close friends moses, oyeshan and renaldo. We’d all hang out together. After school when I got home. I’d hang out with my 1st friends kubeshen, torino, lee and renaldo.

Finally when we finished school! Me, moses, oyeshan and renaldo began to hang out more and more and that’s how we became best friends over time.

Kubeshen and I was still friends but over time we drifted apart because he was always so negative. He didn’t believe in dreams so he would be kind of technical when we spoken about our dreams for our lives. So I didn’t cut him off completely just kept my distance. Now I don’t ever see him, but if I do see him somewhere we would just greet chat for a bit and part ways.

I have no regrets about that. I know who my real friends are. Moses, oyeshan and renaldo. They been through the good and bad times of my life. Its good to remember the journey. Peoples lives make for a good story. Also torino and lee moved to another city where they now live. So I haven’t seen them in like over 6 years.

Leave a Reply

