Getting back into graphic design

Standard

 photo gdpost.jpg

Its been a while since I started designing graphics again. You could say at some point I lost my confidence. So I stop designing graphics because I didn’t feel like I was good enough compared to other graphic designers.

Losing my confidence wasn’t such a bad thing because I learnt some valuable lessons.

1. Photoshop, gimp, and corel draw has nothing to do with graphic design.

I know what you thinking those tools are what is used to create graphics right. Yes that is true! Kind of. When I lost my confidence in myself I still knew how to use every tool in gimp and photoshop ,but couldn’t design a single thing. Simply because I couldn’t think of anything because I was so depression, anxious and stressed. Your mindset has everything to do with graphic design.

2. There are different types of graphic design

1)Digital artist, 2)typography, 3)vector graphics, 4) Digital photography(tweaking photos and adding effects etc)

I’d say I have a little bit of all these skills but generally good at one of them. Lately I’ve been improving my vector design skills because I wasn’t really that good at it. Also vector designs plays a major role in logos, drawing, clipart, identity or branding. Its not an easy skill to learn but it is fun to play around with. It takes time and imagination to learn but I love it and will never stop learning.

Of course it doesn’t start with a computer. You can start with a simple pen and paper. Draw chicken stretches and explore from there. If you looking to get into graphic design. My advice to you is? Have a passion for it or you will find yourself frustrated and you will burnt out learning something that you just wanna to do for the sake of doing. Also have an imagination and believe in your designs even if you people say they suck. Work at it until you happy with it. Learn from other graphic designers and most of all never compare yourself with someone else.

9 thoughts on “Getting back into graphic design

  1. I totally agree with your last line “most of all never compare yourself with someone else”. I think this has been the source of many feelings of not being good enough because there’s so many other, younger, smarter, more talented designers out there. But we all have something to offer, we’re all different in our expression of creativity. So we can’t give up 🙂

    • Thanks uresha. Yeah comparing myself to other designers was something I learnt the hard way. Its makes u feel like you not good enough. There was a point where I wanted to quit graphic design but I realised I loved it to much to give it up. I’m glad you another graphic designer understands what I meant in my blog post

      By the way I’ve seen your designs on rebelink fb page and they very awesome and create. Love the way u designed the logos.

      Logo’s for me isn’t my strong suit.
      I suck. Posters and layouts are more my thing but still learning

      • All designers have a an aspect of design that they are strong in and areas where they fall short. For me, I love vector design, a clean and fresh look and feel. I’m not so great with Photoshop effects…
        There’s a cool site to help you with vector design http://www.fordesigner.com Check it out 🙂

      • Awwwh thanks I appreciate the help 🙂 I must say it feels good to talk with someone in the same field as me. Its a pleasure your rebelink page is good just keep up the good work. Also Looking forward to reading your blogs posts 🙂

      • I started the blog and the FB page around the same time, now I’m stuck with trying to get content sorted out for both lol. Hopefully I’ll get into the swing of things soon 🙂

      • Ah don’t worry you’ll get, I get stuck like that as well. sometimes I take a break from posting on my blog n use my free time to come up with ideas and do posts in advance. Sometimes taking person experiences make the best blog posts. As for your fb page share your experiences or design something you feel inspired about.

Leave a Reply

