Getting tested for HIV/AIDS is scary!

In honour of world aids day yesterday I decided to write this post and share my experience of when i got tested. It was a pretty scary experience. I mean the thought of being HIV positive was terrifying. I went to the newlands west clinic where i got tested. When I entered the clinic I was so nervous to tell the nurse I wanted a HIV test done. Finally I summoned the courage and told the nurse what I came for. Surprisingly it wasn’t as bad as I thought.

So now I’m waiting and its like time stood still where the minutes felt like hours because I was so scared that I might be HIV positive. Finally I went in to see the nurse. My body shaking with fear so nervous. The nurse kindly tells me to relax and if I’m positive it isn’t the end of the world. That the treatment they provide will help you live a normal life. Honestly I didn’t care about that. I just didn’t want to be HIV positive.

Finally the nurse ,she pokes my finger and puts the blood on a HIV/AIDS test kit. If 2 lines appeared on it. You are positive. If one line remains then you are negative. So I’m waiting and waiting and finally the nurse says you are negative. What a relief it was like I could finally breathe calmly again after hearing that.

Ever since my last sexual experience I learnt to get tested regularly to be safe for yourself and others. Remember to condomise it could save your life.

Leave a Reply

