My 1st therapy session with the psychologist

Hi guys, as you can see from my post title says it all. After weeks of waiting I’ve finally got to see the psychologist. Of course I had to sign a document that allows what we speak in therapy to remain confidential. I tell it feels good to get so many things of my chest without worrying weather I was gonna be judged for it. For example friends or family would see me differently if I told them how bad my anxiety is.

Well today wasn’t a full on session but more like an assessment about me and what could be triggering my anxiety. Still it was helpful saying things out loud, things that where bothering me and things I fear. Guess what they say is true, going to see a psychologist is really a safe space.

In our session the therapist showed me an example of how I needed to change small things and be more assertive. To be honest I would of never noticed that. So that’s one thing I learnt about myself today. I wish I could you tell more about the session, but there was a lot of personal things mentioned. The best part I guess was when the psychologist assured me that there is hope and how he has dealt with many cases like this. There will be a treatment plan I would have to follow in the next session or so. Also steps I’d have to follow to get better. I’m happy for the first time I’m getting the help I needed.

9 thoughts on “My 1st therapy session with the psychologist

  1. I hope it works for you. It only helped me get so far before I could see that it was diminishing. Tell me, did the therapist have to sign a confidentiality agreement as well?

    1. Thanks I think well its only my first sessions, so I’m trying to be a little positive here. The therapist did tell me if I wasn’t happy with them they would get me someone else I’m more comfortable with if I wanted. I’m sorry things didn’t work out for you but maybe u need to consider another therapist. And as for your question yes the therapist had to sign the confidentiality agreement aswell.

      1. I had easily several dozen sessions with my therapist, and she did help me sort out many things, but I think I realized that I was not going to take the next steps as she was suggesting, so why waste both of our times? I have been considering going back into therapy — I’m certainly not making any progress on my own. I don’t know what I can hope for though. I don’t think I’ll ever be free of my depression.

        I’m glad you’re being positive. Maybe I need to try that.

      2. Well I’m glad I cud encourage you to consider going back to therapy. See there was some positive to your therapy. Don’t give up. Cause I won’t either. We in the same boat. I wish you luck and happiness as I to am striving for the same thing. Thanks for visiting my blog btw.

  2. FYI – The confidentiality agreement is for *your* protection and emotional comfort. Your therapist is ethically bound to keep anything said in the session confidential anyway, but this document is for legal protections. Some therapists have a supervisory therapist and, in that case, there is usually an exclusion clause for that one person – two heads are better than one! (It doesn’t mean your therapist is not qualified, it’s simply the way some clinics and offices are set up.)

    It’s YOUR session, however. You are still allowed to disclose anything you say to anyone you want. Your choice how much and to whom. I’d advise playing it close to the vest until you see how it’s going for you. Use a journal or a tape recorder if you need to “talk” it out between sessions.

    Congrats, btw – good decision. Don’t get discouraged if everything suggested doesn’t work – or doesn’t work right away. Stick with your treatment plan, be brutally honest and forthcoming in your sessions, document what seems to help and what doesn’t (and take it with you to your sessions). Onward and upward!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    1. Hi thanks and for the support 🙂 this is all new to me seeing a therapist. I am here because I need help and willing to go along with the treatment plan. For to long I’ve been alone in this and failed. At least with the help of a therapy now and prayer and start to move forward. For the first time I see hope now.

      1. You’re very welcome. There will be ups and downs still, but the general direction will be up as you continue to work with your therapist.

        Some weeks it will seem like the sun finally came out. Then, like the weather, the rain will be back. Trust the process. The sun will break through again. More and more sunny days are in your future if you keep up the work.

        You are so wise to reach out for help. It’s so hard to move forward when we’re stuck in our own heads. Good therapists are like sherpas — they know the territory and can guide you through.

        Best of everything to you. Onward and upward.

        xx,
        mgh

Leave a Reply

