Group therapy was a different experience

Standard

Today was a new experience for me.  It’s only been 3 session now that I’m seeing a psychologist. This week Tuesday I saw my psychologist, he recommended I try group therapy because It will help me get out of my shell and improve some self confidence.  So I signed up.  Today was our first session.

In truth I was so anxious the whole day before my group session.  Felt like I wanted to puke.  Also wondering who are these people.  What are they gonna think of me.  What if I make a fool of myself.  But later on I did learn that it was a safe space so even if I did make a fool of myself.  Everyone there is there to support and point me in the right direction.

Of course it wasn’t a regular group session. The theme was the here and now. We all in the group had to choose a goal that we would be witness to improvements of each others goals.  My goal is to speak with confidence and have a more of a confident presence.  Why? cause when it was my turn to talk.  I froze words wouldn’t even come out of my mouth.  I had to take a second to breathe deeply and dig deep to find any words I could. To say what I meant.  Which didn’t go well at first because I stuttered at first but eventually managed saying my piece.

It was nice though to connect with people in a similar situation.  I met amazing people today who just need a little help like myself in life.  I was glad to go through today’s experience.  As hard as it was facing my issues with a bunch of strangers.  Looking forward to next week’s session.

Leave a Reply

